Student information portals

I hope all of you had the chance to hear Joyce V on WOW2.0 early March. (SHOW #65) During some great suggestions, she was talking about teaching students how to create their own information portals. She suggested using pageflakes, netvibes or IGoogle. I started working with students during Teen Tech Week using IGoogle, but would love to hear more of what you are doing! Do you have student exemplars? What should and shouldn't be included?

You need to be a member of TLNing (teacherlibrarian.org) to add comments!

Join TLNing (teacherlibrarian.org)

Email me when people reply –

Replies

• I feel like this is kind a dumb question, but I am new at this and learning, so I'll ask it anyway. How is an information portal different from a wiki? Or could a wiki be used as an information portal? Thanks for the clarification!
  • For PAT R:
    Go to "add stuff" at right - in search window enter "url"
    My try turned up with two responses: "url redirector" and "Hyperlinks."

There may be others, in my brief trial runs of igoogle the search doesn't turn up everything.
    I 've also done a lot of browsing to locate finds.

This may answer KATHY's concerns? Once you have a page set up - go to the drop down arrow beside your tab and select "share" to email your page of goodies (must-haves) to others.

EVERYONE: SpringWidget is also another gadget option,
    perhaps a next step beyond netvibes, pageflakes and iGoogle and MyYahoo start pages.
    (I'm also loving the Google desktop update which delivers gadget options.) SpringWidget is being used by the Georgia Standards Org. to deliver their first podcasts, but you can also make your own gadgets to do numerous other things. I linked their code into my blog - it look sleek and it works swell at home, seems to be blocked by school filters.
    • Hello everyone,