weeding old books

I am in a new setting this year and have inherited an old collection. After an online analysis, I realized I have an average copyright age of 1988. I set out to weed, beginning in the nonfiction area. I deleted 1165 books at the end of the week. I re-ran that analysis, only to change from 88 to 90, How disappointing. So I set out to begin the fiction section next. I had several helpers, and had sheets with the identified titles to be pulled, and was flabbergasted that many were not found on the shelf. I said to myself they must be lost. I went to the catalog, expecting them to be classified as missing or lost b/c I had been assured an inventory had been done last year. To my dismay, all were supposedly available and on the shelf. I had a nagging suspicion. I am new to using Destiny, but I located a report that would show me the books scanned at inventory (from May 2007) and it would also show me books unaccounted for --that were not scanned during the inventory. This report was well over 100 pages. I found that 50+ pages were for titles unaccounted for. The assistant (who has been there for years) assured me many books were discarded, b/c she had to peel off all identifying labels strike through school names, and box them. We had the sinking realization that none of those books had been deleted from the system. So what to do now? The media coordinator is in talks w/ Destiny's tech support, and it is our hope they can help us do a global delete of those unaccounted for books. But only time will tell. I sure do hate to think I may have to manually one at a time delete those titles. (I'll definitely find me a tech savvy volunteer if that winds up being the case.) The good news? Maybe the collection is not so bad afterall. The bad news? I am not offering the number of books per student I think I am. The what ifs? What if many of those books show back up? We have alliance plus and another cataloging program at the district level, and I've been assured